Sue Fowles


Sue Fowles
Mediator

Sue brings her vast experience to provide mediation to clients in the West of the County and through Skype.

Sue's background is in teaching where, the best part of the job, was the children. She took a break from teaching to have her fourth child: this proved to be a permanent break from being in school. She did the usual mum things like PTA but was also a host mother for foreign language students for several years. This was great for her children, mixing with lots of different cultures and people, and great for Sue as it was a mum/ teacher role. 

Sue moved into mediation by volunteering as a community mediator, dealing with dogs, trees, noise etc finally moving into Family Mediation after studying for a legal qualification and working for a law firm.

Family Mediation brings together a number of Sue's areas of interests. "People are fascinating- on the train and in the mediation room! As a mediator, you meet people when they are usually at a low ebb in their lives, but ready to try to move on. Being a mediator, provides you with an opportunity to help people help themselves and to find a way through their problems, using their strengths and talents. It is uplifting to compare people at the end of joint sessions and at the beginning. They feel lighter in spirit having faced their problems and found ways of sorting matters out and being ready to move on."

Sue especially likes meeting children in Child Inclusive Mediation. "I have yet to meet a child who was not delightful and a credit to their parents. These children usually understand the problems their parents are having and have a clear- sighted view of what they would like in the future. Sadly, this may sometimes be to not see a parent for a short or longer time, but there is always reasoned thinking behind that and not just a saying no."

On a personal level I am involved in a charity in West Africa (sponsoring children and working in a village school) and I am married to an African who lives there. I go out to visit him and my friends there on a two -monthly basis. I hope that this makes me very open and understanding of people of all types and backgrounds. It also means that I get to do some teaching but in a school which is very different to previous ones in the UK!